The most epic Moonrise Kingdom Lunch: Part 1

 

DSC_1760

DSC_1736

The most epic Moonrise Kingdom lunch has happened. And if I don’t say so myself – it was epic. The idea for this lunch started mainly when I was bored at work scrolling through reams of beautiful pinterest boards and looking at blogs with amazing dinner party ideas. I wanted to do something fun and a little whacky, but it needed a theme. So when you are a fan of bunting, scout memorabilia, enamelware, wild flowers and Wes Anderson… well the answer is simple – it had to be a Moonrise Kingdom inspired lunch.

DSC_1727For the last two months I have been working on ideas for the food, the costumes and the decorations. I am really pleased with how everything came together. But the best part of the night though was undoubtedly the band – The Thumping Tommies.

Frustratingly, with the busyness and fun of the evening I didn’t take nearly as many photos as I would have liked. And I was also planning a video (I think I will still do one with stills though) – which just didn’t happen (this is not due to the fact that after a few too many glasses of wine I couldn’t figure out how the video function on my camera worked – not at all). But below are some photos of the evening. Most of the crafts that I have photoed, I have also posted tutorials on. However – if there is something you like and can’t find a post about it – let me know and I will get something up!

DSC_1734

All the flowers were growing wild next to the canal and I picked them on the morning of the lunch. The flags/pennants I have been collecting for some time and have found them by scouring eBay. The lanterns are cheap knockoffs that I bought for $1 from the Eastern Market when I was on holiday in Washington in December.

DSC_1739

DSC_1735

I made my racoon favour/ table decoration thingies by painting birch rounds – see my post about this here. I also quickly painted the birch cutlery on the morning of the lunch (can I just say- I wouldn’t recommend birch cutlery though- it overwhelms the flavour of any food).

DSC_1744

DSC_1740

The bunting, which is the feature photo of this blog post, I made using super cheap fabric which I just roughly cut into triangles and sewed onto strips of fabric. It was time consuming, but considerably cheaper than buying the same quantity.

DSC_1783

And then of course, there was the food….

DSC_1730

To nibble on, whilst we waited for everyone to arrive, there was DIY trail mix. I just set up a bench with mugs filled with various nuts and nibbles and put out bags for guests to fill as they wanted. The sign I made with wood that I found lying on the side of the road. I painted it black and then used my paint roller over the top to create a wood effect. See this post for ideas.

DSC_1733

There were also first aid badge biscuits to nibble on. These were a basic cheese shortbread which had a red cross dusted on with paprika (I don’t have a tutorial for this – but let me know if you want one!)

DSC_1720

The entree was a New Penzance lighthouse which was a tower of roasted beetroot and fresh mozzarella with pine nuts and balsamic vinegar (it really should have been a balsamic reduction – but you live and learn…). Honestly – not one of my more successful dishes (it tasted better in separate components the previous day! Hence no tutorial for this) – but at least it fitted in with the theme!

DSC_1762

 

DSC_1766

DSC_1772The main was our favourite – pulled pork sandwiches. And they really went down a treat. I had to get up at crack of dawn to make enough rolls for the day. Well worth it though. If you want to know how to make the rolls – see my post here. But before launching into the eating of the rolls – guests obviously needed directions – because a scout is always prepared no?

DSC_1769

DSC_1726

 

DSC_1716

DSC_1767And then to quench thirst during the meal (aside from the copious amounts of alcohol – or was that just me?) lemonade of course…

DSC_1746Well dessert was delicious. But at this point in the meal I had completely forgotten about photos. So this will just have to wait for another post. Which makes me angry at myself – but at least there can be a reprise of The Most Epic Moonrise Kingdom Lunch posts.

Dessert was followed by coffee and boy scout/girl guide biscuits – see my guide for how to make your own cookie stamps here:

DSC_1702And then finally homemade S’mores – which of course I didn’t get a photo of. And again I’m so annoyed – because I made the marshmallow and everything! But at least I have a photo of the graham crackers…

DSC_1683The band The Thumping Tommies then arrived… and they were just wow…

DSC_1790

DSC_1818

DSC_1799

DSC_1813

DSC_1808And after the band was finished their main sets they had a few impromptu sessions, one of which my Irish neighbour joined in playing the spoons! A great night… actually I’m prepared to go so far as to say epic.