A few of my favourite things: Homemade preserve labels

DSC_1733Oh I know – a few of my favourite thing – preserve labels??? WTF? But I really love preserves. And a preserve with a pretty label… well I just can’t turn it down. Plus these little babies make wonderful “thank you for having me for dinner gifts”, Christmas gifts, housewarming gifts… They also just look really awesome on your kitchen shelves. And this is super thrifty…

DSC_1740

Here is what you need:

– ordinary white cartridge paper

– acrylic paint – colour of your choice

– fine paintbrush

– template for your letters – I just printed off the words from Word – but if you are looking for an interesting font there are loads available online

– masking tape or washi tape

DSC_17171. Water down your paint – you want to get a sort of watercolour effect

2. Paint your design. You can vary the shade depending on how much water you mix with the paint.

DSC_1719

3. I traced the outline of the font onto the painted paper. I am lucky enough to have a lightbox which makes this step a bit easier. But if you don’t have one of those, justĀ hold the template and paper against a window.

4. Either paint or use a ball point pen to fill in the traced letters.

DSC_1721

DSC_17255. Cut the label out to the size you want.

DSC_1728

6. Stick your label to the jar with masking tape.

DSC_1731