The most epic Moonrise Kingdom lunch: Cool and cheap table setting ideas

DSC_1668I have been messing around with a few cheap ideas for table settings for Moonrise Kingdom lunch. I don’t want to spend a fortune on the table settings and I want to use things that we already have around the house/ I can easily get from a park. I quite liked this idea which uses the racoon design from the patches on the scout uniforms:

 

Moonrise-Kingdom(image courtesy of this cool site)

I liked the racoon image because I could use a limited colour palette and it was something that was really easy to paint en masse.

All you need are birch rounds which you can buy super cheaply online – or just cut rounds from a tree branch. I bought my birch rounds on Ebay from a sustainable source (they only use branches that have naturally broken off trees in a FSC forest). I used white and black acrylic paint to paint on the designs. I painted the outline of the racoon head in white, waited for it to dry and then filled in the details with black paint once dry.

DSC_1665

The flowers were growing wild next to the canal and I really love the way they look. Plus they don’t cost a thing!