Lost time: Easy (and cheap) wall hangings

 

My computer died. So for the last few weeks I have been trying to salvage my photos, and get it going again. And hallelujah – I am back (with a new hard drive and a little bit poorer)! And it’s so good to finally be blogging again. I have been doing quite a bit of stuff in this downtime and instead of grouping my posts under different headings – I’m going to be lazy and just stick them all under “lost time”….First up I made four super easy wall hangings. We have a couple of awkward spaces in our house that I have been trying for some time to find a way to decorate. As we rent our decorating options are limited. I wanted something that required minimal fixings to hang up, covered a large area and didn’t cost much to make. These wall hangings only require one nail to hang, can be as small or large as you require and in terms of cost – I found a tablecloth on sale at H&M a couple of weeks ago for €5 which I used for all the hangings. So bam – this is a ridiculously easy option for renters.

DSC_1498

Here is what you will need:

– Material cut to the size you require. I suggest a slightly heavier fabric like canvas as it hangs better – but it is entirely up to you. If you use a lighter fabric you may want to sew a dowel stick into the bottom to weigh the fabric down so that it hangs better.

– Sticks to hang the fabric from – I used sticks I found in my local park.

– Paint – I used acrylic and then some oil based paint we had lying around which have been used for painting Airfix models. I would however be very careful about using an oil based paint as it can sometimes bleed a little bit into the fabric.

– Paintbrush

– Potatoes for the stamping (optional)

– Feathers (optional)

– Black pen (optional)

– card and craft knife

For all the wall hanging you will need to do the following:

– Measure the fabric and cut to the size you want. Remember when measuring the width to use the stick you are going to hang the fabric from to get the correct measurement.

– Hem the rough edges of fabric (the parts you have cut).

– If you want to sew the stick into the fabric place the stick on the edge of the fabric (as shown in above photos). Fold the fabric over the stick and pin. Slip the stick out and sew the two pieces of fabric together in line with the pins to create a kind of pocket for the stick. Remember – don’t sew the side edges together. You will need to drill holes in the edges of the stick to thread string through to hang the fabric from.

– If you are going to use a found stick (see above) and plan to decorate it and don’t want it being covered by fabric (as per method above) – then simply hem the top of the fabric. However, I would recommend following the above step for the bottom part of the fabric as it weighs down the hanging and helps it to sit better against the wall. When you are ready to hang your fabric, use a darning needle to thread string through the fabric and simply tie onto the stick.

– Before starting any stamping or painting I would recommend ironing the fabric.

1. Potato print

DSC_1494

 

Did I mention this was easy? This is ridiculously easy. I made this wall hanging for our bathroom as we had a large empty wall that just needed something!

(1) Cut a potatoes in half. Then cut the half into a shape. I left one potato half as is and cut the other into a triangle. Leave to dry cut side down on a paper towel for at least half an hour.

(2) Brush the potato stamp with paint. Or you can put a dollop of paint on one stamp and then smoosh the two stamps together to spread the paint evenly. Stamp. Repeat.

(3) I then went back and painted some of the stamps with touches of gold and blue paint.

2. Feathers

DSC_1474

I saw this idea on the Free People blog and thought it was quite cool – so adapted for this project.

 

(1) Lay your feathers out on a newspaper.

(2) Choose a few different paints and simply brush the paint onto the feathers in the direction of the feather. Leave to dry and then paint over if you want to add more decorations.

(3) Using fabric glue, glue the dried feathers onto the fabric. Leave to dry and then hang.

3. Arrows

(1) Draw an arrow shape the size you want onto a piece of card. Cut out the shape with a craft knife. Boom – you have a stencil

(2) Place the card on the material and gently dab the paint onto the cut out area. Do this gently because you don’t want the paint to bleed outside the area of the stencil.

(3) I left the paint to dry and then later went back and painted patterns with different colours over some parts of the arrows. I then used a ballpoint pen to add further detail.

4. Lines

(1) I watered down some of the paint to get most of a watercolour feel. I simply then pained lines onto the fabric.

(2) I waited for the paint to dry and then went back and painted patterns onto some parts of the lines with coloured paint.