Green: Green (Asparagus) Soup

DSC_1059To round off the green theme I needed to include some green food. Nothing says spring more than asparagus. And it’s green. So it’s perfect.

I have not always liked asparagus though. My mother used to eat the white kind that came in cans – it was really slimy and had this super strong, funky smell. You always knew when a tin of asparagus had been opened. And this made me so averse to asparagus that the first time I was served the fresh stuff, I was so convinced I was going to hate it, that I cut it into small pieces and swallowed it whole. And then at some point in the last 5 years I gave asparagus another go – and oh deary me it’s so delicious. In fact it’s so delicious it makes me sad to think of all my wasted non-asparagus years…. The recipe I’m posting today is for a soup that was my gateway asparagus food (so beware!). I love it because it’s really simple and the flavours are so fresh. The only thing I would note is that you may possibly want to save this soup for the big woody stems of asparagus and keep the more tender skinny ones for other dishes.

DSC_1021

Ingredients (this serves 4):

2 leeks

400g asparagus

1 medium potato – peeled and diced

20g butter

600ml vegetable stock

1 teaspoon sugar

salt and pepper

juice of half a lemon

4 tablespoons of soft cheese like Boursin, or sour cream

DSC_10341. Cut the green off the leeks, then cut in half lengthwise and slice.

2. Discard the woody base of the asparagus and then cut into 2 cm pieces. Keep the tips separate.

DSC_1045

3. In a large saucepan saute all the vegetable with the butter, other than the asparagus tips, for 4 minutes. Try not the colour the vegetables.

4. Add the stock, sugar and a little seasoning. Put the lid o the saucepan and leave to simmer for about 40 minutes. Add the asparagus tips and then cook for a further 10 minutes.

5. Liquidise the soup until fairly smooth. Stir in the lemon juice. Ladle into bowls and put a tablespoon of soft cheese or sour cream on each.

DSC_1020