New Year – bits and pieces

Merry Christmas! Happy New Year! Happy February! I haven’t blogged in ages. Mostly because I was away for a month in the States on holiday. I had really good intentions of blogging while I was away – clearly it didn’t happen… BUT anyway it is now a new year and I have so many ideas and things I want to do on the blog.

As a start I thought I would post a couple of photos from my trip (I know – I also hate sifting through other people’s holiday photos – but I think some of these are really cool. Promise. So to make it slightly more bareable I have collated the photos into vague collections – starting with buildings – because I loved the architecture.)

This was my first trip to the States – I was determined to go before I turned 30. I just made it… I also had these ideas about how my first trip had to be in winter because everything looks prettier covered in snow. And well… let me tell you it was covered in snow. Lots of it. We were caught in the middle of the Polar vortex – I have never experienced cold like that in my life. But it was amazing and really pretty, and I got to make snow angels. I call this collection – cold.

And then of course there was the food. OH MY GOD America. There is just much tastiness! Admittedly loads of cholestrol inducing tastiness, but tastiness none the less. I am really dissapointed though that I didn’t take photos of any of the food we ate a bar in Chicago called Lucky’s. I drool just thinking about their wings and mozzarella sticks. I think I need to try and recreate these at home this year.

And of course there was her Lady Liberty…

And all the beautiful views and skylines…

And then just all the random bits and pieces that make America cool…