Christmas interruption: Botched cakepop chocolate truffle slice

P1040353Ok I know this ain’t pretty but OMG OMG OMG – this is completely going to blow your mind. David has declared it his favourite baking treat. It is no-bake (if you buy the sponge), super easy to make and it is (not to blow my own trumpet) completely amazing. This will make a really good homemade gift wrapped up in a nice box. Or a good entry to all those office Chirstmas bakeoffs going on at the moment. Or take it to a Christmas dinner party instead of chocolates – it pairs beautifully with an espresso after dinner.

But for me the best thing about this recipe is that it is the very happy result of a complete kitchen mistake.

So what’s this I say about mistakes… Well, I was going to make beautiful cakepops like this:

SnowmenPopsPMImage courtesy of theinspirednotebook.com.

But then this happened:

First batch of cakepops, weren’t so much individual pops as a popblob. Second batch… well they weren’t so much pops as semi spheres. But I didn’t give up here. I gave up when I tried melting the candy pieces in the mircowave and I got stuck with hard candy mass. Disaster all round. But seriously who wants cakepops anyway? Who wants delicious little balls of cake and chocolate goodness? (well me, but since I am hopelessly useless it ain’t gonna happen). But after this little disaster I was left with loads of pieces of really tasty sponge. I also had a jar of salted caramel in the fridge from the salted caramel doughnuts I made and Tennis biscuits from the mini lemon meringue pies… and I had an idea. A wonderful, happy salted caramel, cakey, truffley goodness filled idea. And so was born the botched cakepop chocolate truffle slice.

Botched cakepop chocolate truffle slice (adapted from Anabelle Langbein’s chocolate truffle slice recipe)

You will need:

  • 125g butter
  •  ¼ cup caster sugar
  • 2 tablespoons golden syrup
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • 2 tablespoons cocoa
  • 1 pkt tennis biscuits/ plain sweet biscuits
  • 1 ½ cups cake crumbs (if you aren’t a moron like me and haven’t botched cakepops – save yourself time and just use the plain sponge you can buy from the supermarket)
  • Nip whiskey or rum (optional)
  • salted caramel (to make see here, or just buy a pottle)
  • slab of chocolate (I prefer milk but that is because I don’t have a sophisticated palate that likes dark chocolate)

How to:

  1. Line a 20cm x 20cm (roughly) square dish with baking paper.
  2. Crush the biscuits. I do it in a mortar and pestle. you can also put the biscuits in a plastic bag and bash it with a rolling pin.
  3. Heat butter, sugar and syrup. Then add the cocoa and half of the crushed biscuits. Once this is mixed, add the rest of ingredients and combine.
  4. Pour the salted caramel over the chocolate biscuit base. It helps to heat the caramel slightly so that it pours easily.
  5. Break the chocolate into small evenly sized pieces and melt in a heatproof bowl, either in the microwave, or over a simmering pan of water on the stove.
  6. Put in the fridge until set.