Christmas interruption: Chocolate Espresso Snowcaps

DSC_0446

I know – I’m a bit all over the place. I still have a few more “It was all yellow themed” posts to come, but it’s 10 December and I am sorely lacking in proper festive posts! It feels like yesterday that I was whingeing about not being allowed to be over-the-top festive, and now I find myself basically half way through December without a proper Christmas post. It is an exceedingly poor effort. I am very ashamed of myself.

However, all is not lost because I have for you today a proper Christmas cookie recipe. I must warn you though this is a grown up Christmas cookie (do not fear though… gingerbread is on its way). It is rich, decadent and because of the dark chocolate slightly bitter. The perfect cookie to have after a meal with a coffee or perhaps a little bit of port. (I have stolen this recipe from Pink Patisserie – you can find the post here – I would highly recommend visiting this amazing site)

These biscuits are easy to make – just a little messy!

You will need:

– half a cup of plain flour- quarter of a cup of unsweetened cocoa powder

– 4 teaspoons instant espresso

– 1 teaspoon baking powder

– 1/4 teaspoon of salt

– 4 tablespoons of unsalted butter

– 2/3 cup of light brown sugar

– 1 egg

– 115g of dark chocolate, melted and cooled

– 1 tablespoon of milk

– 1 cup of icing sugar for rolling

DSC_0425

1. In the bowl of a mixer cream the sugar and butter until light. Add the egg and mix until well combined. Slowly add the melted and cooled chocolate.

2. Sift the dry ingredients together in a separate bowl. Slowly add this to the creamed chocolate mixture. Then add the milk.

3. Slightly flatten the dough, wrap it in plastic and put it in the fridge for 1 hour.

4. Preheat your oven to 180 degrees Celsius.

5. Line two baking sheets with baking paper. Pour the icing sugar into a medium-sized bowl.

6. Scoop about 1 tablespoon of the dough and roll it into a ball. Roll the ball in icing sugar, covering well – there should be no dough visible through the sugar. Repeat using up all the dough. Then re roll all the balls in icing sugar again to give them a second coat. This is important – don’t skip this step.

DSC_0414

7. Bake for 12 – 15 minutes. When ready, leave the cookies to sit on the tray for 5 minutes, then move to a wire rack to cool.