It was all yellow: Limoncello part 1

DSC_0392I’m loving yellow at the moment (possibly because it is cold and grey outside). So this week – it is all about yellow (as it was a little bit last week). To kick things off, here is a limoncello recipe. I convinced my friend Danielle to come round for a crafting day on Saturday. I sold it on the basis that we would make some Xmas gifts – one of them being limoncello. So while I pottered around, poor Danielle peeled all the lemons for me . But anyway- my point is – this is a great homemade gift and oh so easy to do (not that I would really know…)

DSC_0296

You will need:

(this recipe is taken from The Italian Dish which you can find here)

– a large glass jar

– zest of 6 or 7 large lemons

– 1 litre of vodka

– 5 cups of water

– 3 cups of sugar

What to do:

1. Peel the zest from the lemons with a vegetable peeler. Try not to get any of the pith (the white stuff). Put the zest in the large glass jar.

DSC_0299

DSC_0302

2. Pour in the vodka.

DSC_0308

3. Cover the jar and leave it in a cool place for 7 days.

Limoncello part 2 – we will finish the recipe and I’ll give you an awesome presentation idea.