Preparation: Pistachio and sugar crunch festive doughnuts

DSC_0458

OK, yes I admit it – I am a bit obsessed with doughnuts at the moment. Yes, it is possibly becoming a problem. But tell me – in all honesty – would you turn down one of the beauties? Frankly I think these are like the perfect modern day substitute for Christmas puddings. Don’t get me wrong though – I hoover that stuff down. But sometimes, after a super heavy Christmas meal, the last thing you feel like is a super heavy, dense, fruity pudding. So I say substitute it with a light fluffy pistachio and sugar crunch doughnut. OMG the saltiness of the pistachio against the sweetness of the glaze, contrasted with the crunch of the sugar – well dare I say it…. OK I shall –  this doughnut has it all. Do yourselves a favour this Christmas, bin the figgy pudding, and get your oil a cookin’.

DSC_0456

What you need (makes about 12):

2 and a quarter cups of plain flour (plus about half a cup extra)

1 and a half teaspoons of active dry yeast

40 grams of unsalted butter at room temperature, cut into small cubes

3 tablespoons of granulated white sugar

quarter of a teaspoon of salt

half a cup of milk, heated to a lukewarm temperature

1 large egg beaten

3 cups of icing sugar

quarter of a cup of milk

salted pistachios, shelled and crushed/ chopped

golden, shimmer sugar (I got this in the baking aisle – but if you can’t find it – don’t worry too much)

How to:

1. See my post here for how to make and cook the doughnuts

2. Once the doughnuts have been glazed sprinkle with the crushed pistachios and golden sugar.

3. Devour.