Hunkering Down: 1 wreath, 2 (non festive) ideas

So cold weather and the consequent hunkering down, to me, screams Christmas. It is perhaps important to point out here that I am a Christmas fanatic. But, I live with a Scrooge. It is a problem. And as it’s “only November and no Christmas items may be displayed in the house until 1 December”, I have had to disguise festive things in non festive clothes. Thus I present you with 1 twiggy wreath – 2 (non festive*) ideas.

*ppppfffttt

1. Twiggy wreath with red berry things and pretty leaves

You will need:

– 1 twiggy wreath – I bought mine from Hoobycraft. I imagine you could also get them from shops like Spotlight or the Warehouse… or you could make your own. I know that willow is a really good kind of bendy wood for things like this.

– Berries and leaves – note you don’t need very much of either. I chose really non festive colours of red and green. I am told that the berries and leaves I have used will last a couple of weeks, this is something to bear in mnd when choosing your plants. Whilst cut flowers can look amazing, they will wilt very quickly.

I started by randomly threading pieces of the leaves into my wreath. Once I was happy with this, I wrapped some twine around the leaves to hold them in place. I then threaded the stem of the berries through the wreath. Voila! Done. This is so super easy and quick and looks lovely.

DSC_0074

2. Twiggy wreath with coloured embroidery thread

You will need:

– 1 twiggy wreath (see above)

– embroidery thread in a few different colours

– PVA

So this is ridiculously easy. Wrap the thread around the sections of the wreath. Secure the ends of each piece of thread with a small dab of PVA glue. Repeat.

I love this wreath because it is a little bit different, it is so easy to make and looks so effective. I think either of these wreaths could also make a brilliant centre piece for a table setting. Put a few candles in the middle of your wreath and voila all done. Martha Stewart would be proud.