Doughnuts: Kabbage Kreme

DSC_0136The title of this post should be “Doughnuts: Disasters”. So I got a new camera, a shiny, beautiful new camera. I also got a Dummies Guide to the camera. I read the bits I thought I needed to and then decided that the best way to learn was by doing. So I played with the camera in auto mode, and then I decided that I was ready to use the manual settings (after 1 hour of using the camera). I just thought that photography was a lot easier than everyone made out. Thoughts like prodigy, gifted, artist etc. crossed my mind. I cooked and crafted the whole weekend. I composed what I thought were some beautiful photos. I went to upload them. I had 200 photos of black. I wept like a baby. I threw a tantrum. I said things like – “That’s it, I give up, this is just too hard!” And while I curled up in the foetal position on the couch and rocked, David went and got all the materials and started laying them out for me ready to take new photos. He told me I would find this funny when it was all done. I’m still not laughing.  But I learned two very important lessons: (1) David is  wonderful; (2) I am not a photographic genius.

Anyway – enough of my stupidity. What on earth are Kabbage Kremes you may be asking? And why Michelle, why? OK, first, there is no actual cabbage in these doughnuts. OK, so why the bizarre idea? It’s not that weird. Just hear me out. During university I did an internship with the New Zealand Police. One of the perks of this job was to join the police on a “ride along”. Basically this involved sitting in the back of police car during one of their shifts, and depending on what was going on, it could be really interesting. Anyway, because it was a bit of a hassle for the police to have to take you along, I would take something for the team to eat as a thank you. So one time I took a big box of assorted Krispy Kreme doughnuts, because as I told the team, “Don’t all police like doughnuts? I mean the police in the Simpsons are ALWAYS eating doughnuts.” Ok so it turns out this group of policemen didn’t eat doughnuts. Also this group of policemen were devoid of a sense of humour. No one laughed and no one touched the doughnuts! So in honour of that team I have decided to make a “healthy” doughnut and this post is dedicated to them. I present you with the ultimate doughnut snack, any policeman (or woman) should be happy to consume. Kabbage Kreme – because they count  as one of your five plus a day.

So I tried a couple of doughnut recipes, and this one was the best by a long shot. I adapted the recipe from Joy of Baking and the original recipe can be found here.

Ingredients:

2 and a quarter cups of plain flour (plus about half a cup extra)

1 and a half teaspoons of active dry yeast

40 grams of unsalted butter at room temperature, cut into small cubes

3 tablespoons of granulated white sugar

quarter of a teaspoon of salt

half a cup of milk, heated to a lukewarm temperature

1 large egg beaten

3 cups of icing sugar

quarter of a cup of milk

1. In a large bowl whisk together the flour and the yeast. Add the butter and rub it into the flour to make coarse crumbs. Stir in the sugar and salt.

2. Make a well in the center of the flour mixture and add the lukewarm milk and beaten egg and stir until you have a ball of dough. You may need to add up to an extra quarter of a cup of flour if the dough is too wet (add a tablespoon at a time). Transfer the dough to a lightly floured surface and knead the dough until it is no longer sticky and is smooth and elastic. This will take about 5 minutes (I suggest timing yourself – because this step is pretty important).

3. Shape the dough into a ball and put it into a large lightly greased bowl. Cover the bowl with clingfilm and leave it in a warm place to rise until doubled in size. This will take between an hour and an hour and a half.

4. Take dough out of the bowl and put it on a lightly floured surface. Punch the dough lightly to get the air out. With a lightly floured rolling pin, roll the dough out to a thickness of about 1cm. Cut the dough into circles approximately 6 -7 cm wide. Using a small cookie cutter cut out the center hole (this should be about 2cm wide). Put the doughnuts on a lightly floured baking sheet, lined with baking paper. Gather up the scraps and re-roll the dough to cut out more shapes. Do this until all the dough has been used.

5. Loosely cover the doughnuts with clingfilm and leave them to rise in a warm place until doubled in size. This will take between 30 minutes and an hour.

6. Pour about 5cm of vegetable or canola oil into a heavy bottomed saucepan on a medium heat. Heat the oil to 190 degrees celsius. If you don’t have a sugar thermometer use a cube of bread to test the heat -it  should brown in about 30 seconds.

7. Very carefully lower the doughnuts into the hot oil. Try not to use your fingers to pick up the doughnuts off the baking sheet or they will lose their shape. I used a spatula to slide under the doughnut and carefully lift it off the baking sheet and into the oil. You don’t want to cook too many doughnuts at the same time – I cooked one to two at a time. If you crowd the saucepan the temperature of the oil will drop – and you don’t want that. Fry each side of the doughnut until golden brown. This won’t take more than 45 – 60 seconds. Take the doughnuts out of the oil using a slotted spoon and drain on paper towels. Leave the doughnuts to cool.

8. While the doughnuts are cooling make the glaze. Put the icing sugar and milk in a large mixing bowl and whisk together. You want the glaze to be thick, but you still need to be able to pour it over the doughnuts. If it’s too thick add small splashes of milk until you get the desired consistency, too thick – add more icing sugar.

9. Once the doughnuts are cool, place them on a wire rack with baking paper underneath. Pour the glaze over the doughnuts and allow the excess to drip off onto the baking paper.

10. Now I’m guessing that most of you are not going to decorate your doughnuts with cauliflowers and cabbages. So I haven’t included a tutorial. However, if you should be going on a ride along and wish to take Kabbage Kremes, leave a comment and I will post a tutorial.

Can I just say – these are totally scrumptious. And totally worth the time and the effort because you will be oh so proud of yourself once you have made them. Enjoy.

DSC_0160