The Departed: Pumpkin

I heart pumpkins. I especially heart carved pumpkins. Just Google image carved pumpkins and you will come up with pages and pages of incredible ideas. Whilst I would love to have tried some of these designs, as this is the first time I have ever carved a pumpkin, I opted for something a little more simple. I think the result though, is still pretty cool. Here are my instructions:

Materials:

– pumpkin

– drill with small drill bits

– doiley (or image of a doiley)

– jar

– fairy lights

1. Cut off the top of your pumpkin and scoop out the seeds and pulp.

2. Take your doiley design and stick it onto your pumpkin. Using a pin, prick out the doiley design.

3. Using your smallest drill bit, drill holes into the pin pricks.

4. Wipe down your pumpkin to get rid of all the bits you have drilled out. You may find that you will need to scoop away some more of the flesh inside the pumpkin, it all depends on how deep you drilled the holes.

P1040278

5. Martha Stewart who knows everything about this sort of thing, says to apply a thin layer of Vaseline to the inside of the pumpkin (as I think it acts like a preservative)- I didn’t do this though and I will probably regret it.

6. Wrap fairy light around a jar and put this inside your pumpkin (I also stole this idea from Martha as it seems really sensible given candles can set things on fire…) I used battery operated fairy lights – so I could put the pumpkin anywhere. You may want to consider this if you plan to put your pumpkin outside.