Nostalgia: Strawberry coconut popsicles

When I was small – like 3 or 4 – my mother used to take me for swimming lessons. I wasn’t overly keen on these lessons. I think this is because my only real memories are of being taught to swim backstroke, and as I was incapable of swimming in a straight line all I would do is zig-zag my way across the pool, only realising that I needed to change direction when I smacked my head on the side of the pool. Not fun. Anyway, my mother would bribe me to go by promising to buy me a Tony’s coconut ice cream after the lesson. This was in my books, a very fair deal.

For some unknown reason, Tony’s seems to have stopped manufacturing these popsicles of deliciousness. So I decided to create my own. I will stop here and note that I completely appreciate that this flavour combination sounds weird. But trust me on this one, the flavours are quite subtle and work well together.

Note – you will need a popsicle mold for this recipe. I bought one from Ikea for £1, but if you can’t be bothered with Ikea, they are available online and I would expect at most homeware stores.

Ingredients:

1 cup strawberries (I also used raspberries as they add a nice a bright colour and I had some in the fridge) hulled and chopped.

4 eggs yolks

100g caster sugar plus 1 tablespoon

250ml water

250ml double cream

1 can coconut milk

dessicated coconut

1. Put the berries in a small saucepan with 1 tablespoon of sugar. Cook the strawberries until pulpy and soft- about 6 -7 minutes. Leave to cool.

2. Put the egg yolks in a large bowl and whisk until light and fluffy.

3. Combine the sugar with the water in a small heavy bottomed saucepan over a medium heat. Stir until the sugar is dissolved. Once dissolved boil the syrup until it reaches the “thread” stage – which means that the mixture should look thick and syrupy and the last few drops poured from a metal spoon should form thin threads. This may take a little while.

4. When the syrup is ready, pour the hot syrup onto the yolks in a steady stream, whisking all the time. The syrup will fly off in all directions- don’t worry. Whisk until you have a thick, creamy white mousse. Add the coconut milk and strawberries and combine. If you prefer not to have lumps of strawberry in the popsicles, puree the strawberries before adding to the mixture.

5. Whip the double cream until thick and smooth. Fold it into the the mousse.

6. Carefully spoon or pour the mixture into the molds.

7. Leave to set. This will take at least 4 hours I find. Once the popsicles are set, dip the mold into a mug filled with warm water to make it easier to take the mold off. Roll the popsicles in dessicated coconut.

8. Go for your swimming lesson and then enjoy!